HELOC terms at major lenders
Published HELOC terms at 16 US lenders, taken from each lender's own website on October 6-7, 2026, with a source link for every value.
Key numbers
Maximum CLTV
8 of the 16 lenders publish a maximum combined loan-to-value ratio (CLTV), the share of the home's value that the mortgage and the HELOC together may reach. The highest caps they publish run from 80% (Chase and KeyBank) to 90% (Spring EQ); the other 8 do not publish a general cap.
Minimum credit score
5 of the 16 lenders publish a minimum credit score, from 640 (Spring EQ) to 680 (Chase and Citizens). The other 11 do not publish one.
Smallest line
12 of the 16 lenders publish a minimum line amount, from $10,000 (Fifth Third Bank, KeyBank, Navy Federal Credit Union and Regions Bank) to $50,000 (Spring EQ).
Draw and repayment periods
13 of the 16 lenders publish the draw period, the years in which you can borrow from the line: 11 use 10 years, the others are Chase (3 years) and Navy Federal Credit Union (20 years). 12 publish the repayment period: 10 use 20 years, the others are Citizens (15 years) and PNC Bank (up to 30 years).
Annual fees
10 of the 16 lenders charge an annual fee. The standard fee runs from $50 (Citizens, TD Bank and Truist) to $99 (PenFed Credit Union) a year; Spring EQ does not publish the amount. 8 of them waive or limit it in some cases: the first year, Texas or other states, small lines, or with the lender's own accounts. Bank of America and Navy Federal Credit Union say they charge none, and 4 do not publish an annual fee.
Closing the line early
7 of the 16 lenders charge you for closing the line early: 3 charge a fee (Bank of America, TD Bank and U.S. Bank) and 4 can take back the closing costs they paid for you (BMO, PNC Bank, Regions Bank and Truist). This applies if the line is closed within 24 to 36 months of opening. The other 9 do not publish such a charge.
Introductory rates
5 of the 16 lenders publish an introductory rate, lasting 6 to 9 months: Bank of America, BMO, Fifth Third Bank, PNC Bank and Truist. 4 of these offers have application deadlines, listed in the table. Regions Bank mentions a promotional rate without stating its terms.
Counts leave out values we marked inferred or conflicting. To turn a CLTV cap into a dollar limit for your own home, use the HELOC calculator.
HELOC terms by lender
Each superscript number links to the lender page the value comes from; hover over it to see the exact sentence. "Not published" means we did not find the term on the pages we saved. This page has no sponsored offers or affiliate links. CSV with every value and quote.
Scroll the table sideways to see all columns.
| Lender | Max CLTV | Min. credit score | Line amount | Draw / repayment | Annual fee | Early closure fee | Closing costs | Intro rate | States not offered |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of AmericaSources | 6601 | $01 | $450 if closed within 36 months; not charged on lines under $25,000, in Maryland, or on Texas homesteads2 | Bank pays all closing costs on lines up to and including $1,000,0002 | None: all 50 states and DC2 | ||||
| BMOSources | not published | not published | Min: not published Max: not published | $75 per year through the ninth anniversary; waiver may be available by relationship balances1 | Closing cost recoupment fee may be charged if closed within 36 months1 | BMO pays closing costs on 1-4 family primary residences; above $500,000 borrower pays taxes and title fees in listed states1 | As low as 5.49% APR (Prime 7.00% on 09/17/2026 minus 1.51%) for 6 months; applications 8/3/2026-11/2/2026; no discounts during intro1 | Texas (no home equity products). Outside AZ, CA, CO, FL, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, MN, MO, NE, NV, NM, ND, OK, OR, SD, UT, WA, WI, WY and El Paso County TX, the borrower must be an existing BMO client for at least 6 months1 | |
| ChaseSources | 80%1 | not published | not published | Origination fee up to 4.99% of the credit limit, financed into the line; title insurance and appraisal may be required; mortgage recording tax in AL, FL, GA, MD, MN, NY, OK, TN, VA2 | not published | ||||
| CitizensSources | 85% (labeled 'Max Loan to Value'; shown in the Rhode Island default rate box) varies by location1 | 680 (shown in the Rhode Island default rate box) varies by location1 | $0 first year, then $50/year during the draw period; waived with Citizens Private Client, Private Bank or Quest Checking2 | not published | $0 to open: no application, origination or closing fees1 | not published | Offered only in AL, AR, CT, DC, DE, FL, GA, IA, IL, IN, KY, MA, MD, ME, MI, MN, NC, NE, NH, NJ, NY, OH, OK, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, VA, VT; all other states not offered2 | ||
| Fifth Third BankSources | not published | not published | $65, waived for the first year; none in Texas1 | not published | No closing costs1 | 4.99% intro APR for 6 months, then variable 7.00%-15.65% APR (range from disclosure dated 12/10/2025)1 | not published | ||
| FigureSources | not published | not published | Min: $15,000 (AK and TX minimums differ; not shown in the page source)1 Max: not published | Draw: not published Repay: not published | not published | No prepayment penalty (closure fee not addressed) inferred1 | One-time origination fee (amount not shown in the page source)1 | not published | Variable-rate line not available in MA, VA, MS, IL, WI, VT, DC, OK, TX, NY, CO, WY, WV, SC1 |
| Huntington BankSources | not published | Max: not published | $60 ($50 in MN; none on Texas Section 50(a)(6) lines)1 | not published | No 'no closing cost' statement on page; borrower-paid title insurance may be required above $750,000; mail-away/notary fees $140-$375 plus $25 courier when a third party closes1 | not published | not published | ||
| KeyBankSources | 80% (owner-occupied)1 | not published | Draw: not published Repay: not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | |
| Navy Federal Credit UnionSources | not published | not published | $01 | not published | Product page: Navy Federal pays all closing costs (typically $300-$2,000 on lines up to $250,000); member pays prepaid interest and escrow on first-lien HELOCs. Binding disclosure: no Navy Federal charges to open or maintain the line, but borrower 'may be required to pay' third-party fees, typically $300-$2,000 on lines up to $250,000 sources conflict1,2 | not published | Texas1 | ||
| PenFed Credit Unionbrowser-rendered copySources | not published | $99 on each account anniversary1 | not published | PenFed pays most closing costs; closing costs range $500-$8,500 for a $500,000 line; borrower pays city, county or state taxes in FL, LA, MD, MN, NY, TN and VA, and the appraisal if one is needed (average $550-$850)1 | not published | not published | |||
| PNC BankSources | not published | Min: not published Max: not published | Reimburse PNC-paid closing costs if closed within 36 months (not in Texas)1 | PNC pays certain closing costs; origination fee $299-$599 by line size (none in Texas); borrower pays NY and GA recordation taxes1 | 5.74% intro APR for the first 6 months on lines of $50,000+; variable part only; applications Aug 16 - Oct 31, 2026, close by Dec 31, 20261 | AK, HI, LA, MS, NV, SD1 | |||
| Regions BankSources | not published Exceptions: Texas: total debt on the home may not exceed 80% of fair market value1 | not published | not published | Third-party closing costs paid by Regions are charged back if closed within 24 months (not in Texas)1 | Regions pays closing costs (est. $150-$4,000) for lines up to $500,0001 | Promotional rate may be offered; terms not stated in the guide1 | Only states where Regions has a branch (no list in the guide)1 | ||
| Spring EQSources | 90% of home value1 | 640 ('as low as')1 | Draw: not published Repay: not published | Charged; amount not published1 | None stated; no prepayment penalties1 | No application fee; lender fee and third-party fees apply (amounts not published)1 | not published | No state list; the website does not take applications for New York properties (site-solicitation restriction)1 | |
| TD BankSources | not published | not published | $50 after the first anniversary; none on lines under $50,0001 | 2% of outstanding balance, max $450, if closed within 24 months; waived if refinanced into a TD loan or property sold1 | $99 origination fee; closing costs exist on lines over $500,000, investment properties and co-ops; third-party discharge recording fee $0-$600 or higher when paying off and closing1 | not published | not published | ||
| TruistSources | not published | not published | $50 in AL, AR, CA, FL, GA, IN, KY, NJ and OH1 | Closing costs Truist paid may have to be repaid if the line is closed within 36 months1 | Borrower can pay closing costs or have Truist advance most of them (option in some states for lines up to $500,000); other fees $0-$10,000 by state1 | As low as Prime minus 1.51% (5.24% APR, with Prime 7.00% as of 9/16/2026) for 9 months; excellent credit required for the lowest rates; applications through 11/30/2026, closed by 01/29/2027; not on fixed-rate advances1 | Offered only in AL, AR, CA, DC, FL, GA, IN, KY, MD, MS, NC, NJ, OH, PA, SC, TN, TX, VA, WV1 | ||
| U.S. BankSources | not published | 6601 | Min: not published Max: not published | $75 after the first year; waived with U.S. Bank Platinum Checking Package1 | 1% of original line, max $500, if paid off and closed within 30 months1 | not published | not published |
How we collected this
- We saved each lender's public HELOC pages and disclosures on October 7, 2026 and took every value from them, together with the exact sentence it comes from. PenFed Credit Union blocks automated downloads, so its values come from a browser-rendered copy of the lender's page (Chrome) made on October 6, 2026, covering the page's disclosures section. The table marks this row "browser-rendered copy".
- "Not published" means we did not find the term on the pages we saved. The lender may still give it in its application, in the disclosures it sends you, or for your ZIP code.
- "inferred": Worked out from the lender's published text, such as a payment rule; the lender does not state it in so many words.
- "sources conflict": The lender's own pages disagree; the source quotes show which statements the value rests on. For Chase, four statements on its pages say its HELOC is not offered in Texas, while a disclosure on its HELOC calculator page still lists Texas terms; the table follows the four statements.
- "varies by location": The lender's page shows terms for one default location until you enter a ZIP code; other states may differ.
- Terms change often and depend on your state, property, credit and line size, and introductory rates have end dates. Check the lender's current terms before you rely on a number.
- Lenders are listed alphabetically and are not ranked. See how we make money.
Lenders not in the table
- Wells Fargo: current HELOC not confirmed. On May 1, 2020, HousingWire reported that "Wells Fargo Home Lending will temporarily stop accepting applications for all new home equity lines of credit after April 30". On October 7, 2026, the lender's former HELOC page returned "We can't find your page", and its equity page names a cash-out refinance as the way to borrow against your equity. We left Wells Fargo out of the table.
- Third Federal Savings & Loan and Flagstar Bank: their websites blocked our download, so we could not read their terms.
How to cite this page
You are welcome to quote these numbers; please link to this page. To cite one key number, link to its heading, for example https://homeequitycalcs.com/heloc-lender-terms#annual-fee. The CSV file has one row per lender and term, with the source page, the exact quote and the date we retrieved it.
Sources
- Bank of America (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- BMO (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- Chase (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- Citizens (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- Fifth Third Bank (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- Figure (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- Huntington Bank (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- KeyBank (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- PenFed Credit Union (browser-rendered copy of the lender's page (Chrome), retrieved October 6, 2026)
- PNC Bank (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- Regions Bank (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- Spring EQ (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- TD Bank (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- Truist (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)
- U.S. Bank (lender's page saved as published (HTML or PDF), retrieved October 7, 2026)